Entry 13: KotOR #26 cover

This is the cover for Knights of the Old Republic #26 and it’s the first piece that I drew and colored for publication. I’ve obviously colored things of my own before, but always for myself and never anything very big or complex. So this was a real learning experience. I still don’t know my way around photo shop that well and I really need to get a Wacom tablet, but I’m managing to get by.
 I was uncertain with this piece every step of the way and I still have mixed feelings about it. It didn’t help that I was asked to make changes to it when I was almost done. Not that I didn’t want to make the changes, it’s just that I was already feeling apprehension and self doubt about the whole thing. So having to rethink things hurt my confidence in it even more. (sometime I’ll post up the original version)
 I did end up using the same method I talk about in Entry 5. I even used the same lighting on Zayne in this cover that I used in that sketch. I guess it just seemed to work.
 In the end, for all my doubt, I guess it’s not so bad. And I did learn a lot. I’ll be doing the cover for issue 27 next, so I’ll see what I can do with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Entry 13: KotOR #26 cover

  1. gdg says:

    i looooove this piece, man… lovin’ all your work.
    i agree with you on transformers, too. 🙂

  2. darkyo says:

    that just goes to show that guys in the professional scene are still learning, just as everyone else does. 🙂
    good job on the cover, am looking forward to buying it!

  3. aimo says:

    Rakghuls!! Man, memories of exploring Undercity Taris come flooding back again; Those monsters were tough for the low-level player. So the infection actually started years before the game…
    Photoshop on greyscale marker shading, right? Who’s doing the interior art for this issue?

Leave a Reply

